The things I dream about

Today I have dreamt about taking some time off and enjoying a real vacation. I would like no emails, no meetings, no deadlines, and no dishes for about three weeks. I would like to read my book without getting interrupted. I would like to go for runs, hikes, and bike rides as often as I want to with no worries of time limits. I would like to do my writing in a setting that gets my creative juices flowing. I would like to go to sleep when I feel like it, and to get up when I feel like it. Today vacation is my dream.

My idea of a vacation
My idea of a vacation

Other days my dreams are about my children succeeding, about my book becoming a best-seller, and about being able to speak to all kinds of people all over the world about things that I think matter, and that I think should matter to them too.

Or perhaps this is
Or perhaps this is my dream

Some of my dreams are about having more money. Others are about owning a second car. I have dreams of running a marathon and finishing a PhD.

We all have dreams. Don’t tell me you don’t have any, because I won’t believe you. When we stop dreaming we have lost something very essential in our lives.

Our talented people at Partners have made a great little video about the dreams of children who are refugees from Burma. To watch it made me happy and sad at the same time. Happy because the children have not stopped dreaming. Sad because for so many of them their dreams will not become reality. You can watch it here

Screenshot vimeo

I want to invite you to watch the video and ask yourself what your dreams are, big and small. Let me know what they are. I would love to hear about them.

Author: oddnygumaer

First I am a mother and a wife. My husband is my best friend and my three daughters the joy of my life. My dog teaches me valuable lessons about life and God. I want my life to count. I want to use what I have recieved to make the world a better place. I try to be a good example and to live what I teach. To speak what is true and do what is right is my life's goal and ambition.

2 thoughts on “The things I dream about”

  1. I just want my life to mean something.  I try so hard to help others and lift people up.  I want my children and grandchildren to come see me. My dream is that all my children have all that they desire.

    From my Android phone on T-Mobile. The first nationwide 4G network.

Leave a comment